Ravelry: Recently Stashed

Apart from KnitPicks orders for a few larger projects, I’ve mostly been picking up single skeins of small-batch hand-dyed fingering and sock yarns this year. Here’s a roundup of recent treasures, plus links to the dyers’ shops. Support small businesses! And if you’re curious, you can check out the rest of my stash on Ravelry.

Neighborhood Rustic 1600 Penn
Neighborhood Fiber Co. Rustic Fingering superwash merino in 1600 Penn

Karida, founder of the Baltimore-based Neighborhood Fiber Co., dyed one last batch of 1600 Penn, a color she designed for Michelle Obama, as the Obamas prepared to leave the White House in January. No further explanation necessary. I first visited Neighborhood’s booth at Rhinebeck last year and was delighted to place this order.

Crooked Blueboo Tortitude
Crooked Kitchen Yarn Blueboo Sock BFL-bamboo in Tortitude

I found Laura of Crooked Kitchen Yarn in Ottawa through an Etsy search; a friend asked me to make a lightweight scarf in orange and gray, and Tortitude was the perfect match. This BFL blend was a dream to knit up, and the colors are perfectly saturated. The scarf turned out great, too!

Seawall Quartz Chrysocolla
Seawall Fibres Quartz Sock superwash merino-nylon in Chrysocolla

I’d been watching Nova Scotia–based Seawall Fibres on Instagram for a while when Vickie posted a photo of the Chrysocolla colorway. It spoke to me on a deep level and I ordered up a skein. Shortly afterward, I found that a few dyers were naming colors after this obscure mineral, including a limited-edition colorway from Madeline Tosh. This one is still my favorite.

YONY Broadway Blackbird
Yarn Over New York Broadway Sock merino-nylon-stellina in Blackbird

Jessie, who dyes in Harlem and sells yarn and patterns as Yarn Over New York, is probably one of the most delightful people I’ve met through knitting. She had a little table at Rhinebeck last year and I fell in love with her Hydrangea colorway. But remember that scarf I made back in March? It was such a hit that my friend requested another, this time in black! I immediately thought of Jessie’s Broadway base, which is buttery soft and has a stellar sparkle. I’ll be casting this on soon! (Incidentally, you can also see YONY yarns on the Upper West Side at Knitty City, which is one of my favorite shops for both fibers and vibes.)

Plucky Knitter Primo Fingering merino-cashmere-nylon in Succulent

Annie and Company on the Upper East Side hosted a trunk show for The Plucky Knitter earlier this month—a rare opportunity to actually handle all of Sarah’s bases. After debating long and hard, I chose the fingering weight Primo in rich green Succulent; the blues, greens, and reds are all wonderful.

Ancient Arts Fibre Crafts Fingering/Sock merino-silk in Grand Canyon

Dyed in Calgary, Caroline’s Ancient Arts Fibre Crafts colorways are always a treat. The Meow and Woof collections, for instance, are inspired by various breeds of cats and dogs, and all the yarns are available dyed-to-order in any base. I don’t often buy multicolored variegated shades like this one, but the Grand Canyon colorway reminded me of a visit to Red Rocks, near my cousin’s house in Colorado.

2 thoughts on “Ravelry: Recently Stashed

Leave a Reply

